People in the City Don’t Smile

I’ve been working in downtown LA for two weeks now! USC Hybrid High School, the school I teach at, is located in the New Downtown district. I take the metro to work. I walk next to men with briefcases. I teach in the World Trade Center. Because I love people watching, my life has turned into one massive, people watching adventure. I wrote this on my way to work this morning. More to come soon hopefully!

 

The People in the City Don’t Smile

The people in the city don’t smile.

They tap on screens and don’t look up.

They run on ticking hands.

They work in the buildings where stairs don’t stop,

and they never think about coming down.

 

The people in the city are shiny:

their shoes, their hair, their cars.

They walk with a cause. 

They never hit pause.

To breathe or rest or dream.

 

The people in the city don’t notice.

Their gaze goes forward and up.

They move around, 

Don’t make a sound,

Their eyes will never meet.

 

The people in the city don’t smile.

I think they forgot how to play.

They rush and they work

and they wear collared shirts,

They make home seem like oceans away.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

